Saturday, August 19, 2017

Prince takes over "Creep" at Coachella 2008

The man just overwhelms Radiohead's "Creep" with a display of emotion and frenzy. This is the reason Clapton said "Ask Prince" to identify the best guitar player ever. 

Saturday, August 5, 2017

Carly Simon: The charm of courage in concert

Once upon a time, it was a rare thing to see Carly Simon in concert because she had such bad stage fright. She obviously overcame it...and there are the treasures like these shows. I was lucky enough to see her at the PNC Bank Arts Center in Holmdel, NJ, in 1995. She was wonderful!

Sunday, July 30, 2017

Ann and Nancy Wilson: the Heart of their band

It thrills my Heart to have film like this to really appreciate how talented the Wilson sisters are. Plus they're just downright gorgeous, which is also a treat. Nancy Wilson is a masterpiece guitar player, and Ann's range of instruments is so versatile. (Please: someone tell me what kind of vest the bassist is wearing in the 1976 show. It's just too freaky.) Cheers also for Ann Wilson on the solo circuit.

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Lindsey Buckingham's unique finger-picking at center stage

In his own style, most certainly a man who knows how to make the most of a frenetic, aggressive, expressive style of finger-picking on acoustic guitar and singing like it might save his life: Mr. Lindsey Buckingham.

Saturday, July 22, 2017

Jorma Kaukonen: In Concert(s)

So glad to see Jack and Jorma out on the circuit with Derek Trucks and Susan Tedeschi. This goes out to the Jorma Kaukonen fan club on FB too, and thank you for accepting me as a member.

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

An angel onstage: the voice and image of Linda Ronstadt

She OWNED the airwaves with her clear singing and a band that could fight with loving care on their instruments.